Search results

    Here's how to get started on Reelhouse

    Participate by liking projects and videos. Find new content through Discover & Follow Feed pages.

    • Click 'Like' on a project to follow it and stay up to date with the latest news.
    • Click 'Follow' on a user's profile page to get updates on his or her activity.


    • Click the Reelhouse logo located on the top menu bar to access the Discover and Follow Feed pages.

    Crossing Over

    by Isabel Castro


    Crossing Over Trailer

    Uploaded Aug 7, 2012
    Crossing Over is a documentary about three transgender women from Mexico who are seeking political asylum in the United States. We are in need of all kinds of support in order to complete this film and ensure that these women's voices are heard.

    9 Images

    Film Poster

    Crossing Over

    Each year, thousands of Mexican nationals immigrate illegally to Los Angeles in search of a better life. They work in the shadows, undocumented, hoping that their efforts will pay off and that someday they will live in the light. For the transgender individuals among them, the shadows are more pervasive and difficult to overcome. Though many are eligible for political asylum, few are aware of it, and as a result many turn to the sex industry—often falling prey to its many dangers—simply to survive. Crossing Over is the story of three strong, transgender women who immigrated to the United States to escape a lifetime of sexual and mental abuse, and found that if they wanted a better life, they’d have to fight for it. This is a film about a community of strength and support, about women who fight for themselves and each other, and about finding the strength to be true to oneself no matter what the obstacles. The juxtaposition between the proud, colorful moments from the lives that these women have managed to craft for themselves and the quiet moments of darkness that continue to pervade will remind us of what they have undergone to become the women they are today.
    8 Documentary 2 minutes Released Aug 7, 2012

    2 Comments. Add your thoughts.